Umineko WHEN THEY CRY Blu-Ray Premium Editions Out Now

Share Button

by Marlan Moore | staff editor

Umineko WHEN THEY CRY comes to Blu-Ray this week in a couple of Premium Edition box sets from NIS America.

Umineko is a psychological thriller where Battler Ushiromiya must disprove the existence of magic by reliving the violent, mysterious murder of his family on a secluded island, and explaining how each locked room murder could have been committed without the help of magic. Using logic as his weapon, Battler hopes to discover the true culprit behind his family’s murder.

The series told the tale in 26 episodes and aired in Japan in 2009. Based on the visual novel of the same name, Umineko has also been adapted into numerous manga titles from various publishers and is the third in the WHEN THEY CRY series.

NIS America’s release of the series is separated into two Premium Edition box sets, both released this week. Umineko WHEN THEY CRY Collection 1 contains the first 18 episodes of the series, while Collection 2 contains the final 8. Both collections are exclusively on Blu-ray with Japanese audio and English subtitles.

Both Premium Edition collections come with a a full color hardcover 28-page art book and episode guide, with Collection 2 having the added bonus of clean openings and endings.

Collection 1 is a 2-disc collection and retails for $79.98, while all Collection 2 episodes are collected onto a single Blu-ray disc and retails for $49.98. Both collections are available now at Right Stuf, The Anime Corner Store, Anime Pavilion, and the NISA Online Store.

The NISA Online Store also has a Umineko WHEN THEY CRY Collection 1 & 2 Premium Edition Bonus Set available that comes with an exclusive “Killer’s Bandit” card-based mystery game.

Share Button

Tags: , , ,